Letters

Standard

Born in 1969, a young child in the 70s and a teenager in the 80s. Yes that’s me, I can tick all of those boxes.

My memories of the 70s were of hot summers, cold winters, shops having half days, laundry being delivered, post arriving in the morning, days spent outside, writing letters, reading books with a torch and telly consisted of Sunday dramas, black and white war films, weepy animal programmes and Blue Peter.

I was away at school for much of the 80s so didn’t watch much telly, instead I wrote letters, lots of letters! I dutifully wrote to my mother and grandparents on a Sunday, wrote notes to my friends in the other class (that would be delivered in a book that just so happened to be needed during prep), I scribbled tuck shop requests to my favourite sixth former who would buy me Cherry Lips and Floral Gums midweek, there’d be postcards to my brother and cousin which would be delivered by sixth formers who’d be doing lessons up at Ellerslie. Such was the slow pace of communication my first true love and I got through the day with letters from me written using a Sailor ink pen on Hunkydory paper or his spidery writing on A4 lined paper or Basildon Bond.

Oh the excitement at getting a letter!!In those days you’d write a letter and either get a response delivered the next day by a 6th former, or 5 or so days later via Royal Mail – none of this instant responding!

There’s nothing nicer than getting a handwritten letter in the post and as I’ve been writing loads recently I’ve restocked my stationery cupboard and can’t wait to sit down and put pen to paper, then it’s off to the post box. Who knows when your postie arrives it might be with a letter from me!

20140503-222225.jpg

2 responses »

  1. I went to boarding school and oh, the excitement of post! It was dished out at break time and the hope, anticipation and joy/disappointment was a daily miniature emotional roller coaster. Of course like everyone else I love the convenience of email, mobile etc and I wonder if we can retain the good bits of Life Before or whether they just get consigned to history along with the annoyances of Early Closing Day, having to make phone calls in a drafty hallway and TV shutting down at midnight (as a freelance who was always over-optimistic on timing, late night entertainment was very welcome. Most of my work was finished to the accompaniment of the World Service!).

    • I was explaining Life Before to the girls and was in Heelas on Monday remembering when Heelas now John Lewis was closed on Mondays. I certainly don’t miss the coins for the phone box or the queues for the phone!

Leave a Reply

