Dog on the blog

Standard

Image

 

The dog joined me on an adventure recently.  However, when I say adventure I don’t mean Treasure Island nor do I mean a Famous Five adventure so don’t go thinking we returned home with hidden treasure and lashings of ginger beer.  No, none of that but we did return home with a box of Honey’s Real Dog Food and on second thoughts maybe the bones will be buried and then retrieved like hidden treasure!

Image

I was introduced to Honey’s by Melanie Cable-Alexander who has a gorgeous business Lapaloosa and a very talented son Jasper who created a gift for Mook’s football coach’s birthday.  In one of our chats Melanie suggested I contact Vicky the MD of Honey’s and I duly did.  After a few emails Vicky and I decided on a date to meet and she would tell me all about Honey’s and how it could suit Arthur.

Honey’s is on Salisbury Road Business Park which I have driven past many times on journeys to and from my mother so I knew where I was going, the only decision I had to make was J14 (dull motorway) and OKA or J13 and cut through Kintbury and a walk on Hungerford Common, in the end it was dull M4 as I had to nip to the garage as another one of those warning lights had flashed on my car.  The M4 was as ever, I spend a lot of time driving up and down it as well as other motorways so I just find some good music and have a sing song, only on this journey I was accompanied by Loops who is on study leave and we listened to Radio 4 because Dr Jacqui Turner was on Woman’s Hour talking about Nancy Astor.

Anyway I digress!  We didn’t get to Oka, we didn’t get to Kintbury or Hungerford Common but we did get to Honey’s on time.  Arthur was unsure where he was and seemed perplexed to have his lead on in an area that wasn’t home and didn’t look like anywhere he drives to (well not him obviously).  Up the stairs we went to be met by friendly dogs and Honey’s staff, Arthur was treated like the new boy in the playground, I imagined there was lots of “here smell me”, “look at my ears”, “cor nice smell”, “oh you’re done”, “look at me”, “mind if I play leapfrog?” kind of dog talk but don’t tell anyone I have these imaginary Animal Magic chats in my head!

The Raw Meat Diet was explained to me in detail.  I obviously asked about the downsides and to be honest it all made sense that dogs should eat raw meat and that the only disadvantage to me was that freezer space would be reduced – but hey for the price of white poo I wasn’t going to complain!

So, I’d done my research and I liked what I read on the website “Honey’s is a small, ethical, family-run working dog food company. We believe that working dogs should eat the same sort of diet that they would enjoy if they lived in the wild“, now it was time for Arthur to see what he thought!

Well being a Labrador he’s always hungry, always skulking and always trying to find food, I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve heard him clearing a plate if it’s left unattended, so for this lifestyle change to work properly for him would take a lot more than just defrosting the food!  He’s been on the diet for 10 days now and I can safely say it is easy and he is looking great, he’s not smelling quite so “doggish” and his breath doesn’t stink like it used to!  I think he’s got a lot more energy than he used to have and his coat is certainly looking more glossy, his bowel movements have changed and yes his poo is white!

Needless to say I will be putting in a phone call to the office to set up my account and will wait patiently for it to be delivered!

 

Leave a Reply

