Hello ….. I’m me …..

Standard

It seems that everyone is crazy about George Clooney. He got married. His wife is a lawyer. They’ve bought a house in Sonning. She’s taken his surname. That final sentence is making me LOL and I never really LOL as a) it means lots of love and b) when I laugh out loud I laugh out loud and I don’t abbreviate, I don’t LOL.

I love my maiden name, my father’s family all have the same surname and it is special, so when I got married I toyed with the idea of keeping it for ever. Being double barrelled it was also a mouthful and often misspelt which used to drive me mad as it was my name and I would have to spell it. Spelling a surname with 15 letters takes time. I was still going to use it for work, my bank account was in my maiden name and it would be such a faff to change everything over. Besides my brother might have given me away but there was nowhere that said I had to take on my husband’s surname.

But I did. Eventually. When the insurance renewals arrived it seemed a good time to update them with my married name, I opened a bank account with my married name, our holiday insurance was apparently only valid if the name on the card was the same as the name of the person traveling and the name on the passport had to tally. It all became too complicated.

What I didn’t do was lose my identify. As well as being Nellie Nell, daughter, sister, granddaughter, cousin, friend, I’m also Big Welsh’s wife, when the children arrived I became Loops’, Mook’s or Laree’s mum, when the dog appeared I was known as Arthur’s owner but I was still me, just me with a shorter surname.

And do you know what? I’m sometimes introduced by my maiden name and I gently correct them, it makes no difference to me. I know who I am. I am what I am and what I am needs no excuses, I bang my own drum!

Leave a Reply

